Greater Sudbury Histories

The City of Greater Sudbury is the result of an amalgamation of seven cities and towns and many smaller communities throughout the former Regional Municipality of Sudbury.  This amalgamation occurred in 2001 and resulted in the creation of the largest city in the country in terms of land area and the largest city in Northern Ontario in terms of population*.

Each community, however, still maintains its own distinct cultural values and way of life.  To learn about the seven main communities that make up the City of Greater Sudbury, click on the links below.



Nickel Centre

Valley East

Onaping Falls




Follow this link to list more items
Site Map