In 1885, a survey was conducted in the Onaping Falls area and a 36-square mile township was mapped out. It encompassed what is today Levack and Onaping. In those days, the newly surveyed areas were named after politicians, their family members, or their friends. As such, Levack Township was named after the Premier's wife, Helen Levack, and as was common in those days, the first settlement to be established was named after the township.
The development of Levack was a very slow process. In the early 1890's, scouts from lumber companies looking to purchase timber rights in the area would travel to Levack Township to determine the quality of the lumber to be had. Once timber rights were purchased, the companies would send workers to harvest the trees and these employees would set up lumber camps throughout the area. However, these were just temporary accommodations, not permanent residences. One benefit of these loggers working in Levack was the establishment of trails throughout the forests. These trails made it easier for pioneers, prospectors, and other interested parties to explore the area.
In 1889, geologist James Stobie was examining rock cuts made by the railway in Levack Township. While studying the area around Windy Lake, he discovered rich mineral ore that was identical to the ore found in Sudbury. His discovery helped to establish the Town of Levack.